About Us

History

The impetus to form a group for women diplomats in London came after founding member Ruth Elizabeth Rouse - then Grenada's High Commissioner to the UK - wrote her Masters Thesis on the challenges facing women in diplomacy.

Her findings were a revelation and soon the capital's small, but fast-growing, corps of female ambassadors got together to discuss how they could collaborate more effectively. It wasn't long before WDS was formed in 2002 to promote women in diplomacy.

WDS Celebrated its 10th Anniversary in 2012 - Please visit us often to be kept informed of activities.

Read Elizabeth Stewart's 10th Anniversary Survey on Women in Diplomatic Service at:  http://www.embassymagazine.com/  

 (Charting A Decade of Progress)  

2013 Committee Members

Chairwoman
HE Elizabeth Harding - High Commissioner for The Gambia

 

Immediate Past Chair

HE Ruth Elizabeth Rouse - Former High Commissioner for Grenada

chair@wds-uk.org.uk

Executive Director/Vice Chair
Rosalie Rivett
ceo@wds-uk.org.uk

Vice Chairs

HE Aloun Ndombet-Assamba - High Commissioner for Jamaica

HE Perla Perdomo - High Commissioner for Belize

HE Francine Baron - High Commissioner for Dominica

HE Asta Skaisgiryte Liauskiene - Ambassador of Lithuania

HE Marie-Pierre Lloyd - High Commissioner for Seychelles

vice-chair@wds-uk.org.uk
 

Secretary
Althea Vanderpoole Banahene
Antigua & Barbuda High Commission
secretary@wds-uk.org.uk; althea.banahene@antigua-barbuda.com

Deputy Secretary 

Linda Kalimba - High Commission for Rwanda

secretary@wds-uk.org.uk;

Media Coordinator:

Vacant

media@wds-uk.org.uk
 

Membership Coordinator
(Vacant)
membership@wds-uk.org.uk; info@wds-uk.org.uk;


Treasurer
Janet Charles
High Commission for Dominica

treasurer@wds-uk.org.uk
Deputy Treasurer  - Freshta Omer - Embassy of Afghanistan
 

Chair - Events Committee

Yvonne Thompson - Professional Association

events@wds-uk.org.uk

Events Committee Members

Francine Beleyi - Professional Association

Nickesha Smith - High Commission for Trinidad & Tobago

Yolla Sharon Lewis - High Commission for Guyana